Department of Education confirms four new secondary schools will open next year

The Minister for Education ‘Norma Foley’ is seeking patrons as four new secondary schools are to open next year.

The schools will be built in Gorey, Co Wexford, Dunshaughlin, Co Meath, Ballincollig, Co Cork and Blackrock, Co Dublin.

The first phase of each secondary school will be planned for 500 or 600 places each with the expansion of 1,000 places in the future.

In regards to the patronage process, which has a deadline on the 21st of October, Norma Foley stated, “Patrons are being given the opportunity to apply to run the new schools, and parents given the opportunity to express their preference on the choice of patron.”


Pressing the reset button ‘right thing to do’ – Professor Philip...

Pressing the reset button by moving to Level 5 restrictions is the right thing to do, according to the chair of the National...